Holy Encounters · Keeping Up With the Turners · Uncategorized

Keeping Up With the Turners (Edition 3)

Thursday Morning
What my morning looks like: coffee and school books

Hi, friends! It’s been crazy in the Turner house since we moved last Friday. We ended up moving in the rain, well because, apparently the rain decided it wasn’t finished saturating the earth (thankfully, it’s been pretty dry the past few days). We pressed on and got our stuff loaded in the UHaul with the help of our kiddos and the boys’ girlfriends.

Once we arrived at our new house we immediately started unloading the truck. Needless to say, the house looked like one big storage unit with all the boxes. The kids took the opportunity to use this time of unloading stuff to also play practical jokes on one another. Christian decided Kirstin needed to have one more dose of having an older brother, so he helped her unpack all of her clothes by dumping them on the floor in the middle of her new room. Ha! She wasn’t as amused as the rest of us were.

The dogs are in heaven with the new fenced in backyard. And I am very thankful for it, as well. Hallelujah! And it has come in handy for the dog who ended up getting sick from the move (thankfully she loves being outside, so she didn’t mind getting to boot throughout the day).

Brian had already started work the week we moved, so he got up the following Saturday morning to head into work. Kirstin and I stayed home and began unpacking more stuff. She was a big help with getting the kitchen set up, and of course, the coffee bar was one of the first things to get set up! Sunday was a much needed day of rest for us. Brian and I haven’t had a Sunday off in who knows how long (we haven’t taken a vacation in who knows how long).

Then Monday rolled around and it was time for me to begin work. Thankfully I didn’t have to go in until around 10 am, so I had time for a workout and quiet time with my coffee before having o rush out the door. And, my next Summer course for grad school started.

On Tuesday we were able to enjoy the day with our family. We ate lunch with my parents at my uncle’s house with other relatives. Nothing like fried fish (everyone but me ate it…not a fan), grilled wild pork, coleslaw, potato salad, hushpuppies, onion rings, and homemade ice cream to welcome us back to the area! We ended the day with a swim in the pool at my in-law’s house, and then headed home for bed.

Yesterday was another work day for Brian and I. It was a longer work day for me, but it was still a good work day. The cable and internet were supposed to be installed, but after a long conversation with the contractor for the cable company explaining how horrible his day had been, we were left with no cable or internet. We ended up eating dinner around 9 pm, before heading off to bed. Well, I headed off to complete school work. Then bed. Ha!

And here we are on Thursday. I will spend the day doing school work, as well as getting the house in order some more (all the clutter drives me batty). There is much to still unpack and organize.

I didn’t really plan on giving a play-by-play of our days, but I guess I sort of did. Maybe you enjoyed reading all of that. Ha! There has been a lot going on since we moved, and I know that there is more to come. It will take some time for me to get used to working outside of the home again, while juggling my household duties (I hate that word but couldn’t think of a better one to use in its place), and grad school. I will need an endless supply of coffee and Jesus, some chocolate treats sprinkled in here and there, maybe a breakfast of hot cinnamon rolls from time to time, and words of encouragement along the way.

I miss our boys not living with us (I left out the part of them leaving after all the unloading and enjoying some Chinese dinner together, because well, I would be a blubbering mess by the time I started typing it all). I miss our friends in Opelika. But I know God has a great plan for us, and the steps we have taken are part of that plan. God is a good Father, and there is never a moment that He isn’t working good on our behalf.

Anyways, there’s the latest update for all of you who are following along on our journey with us. Nothing groundbreaking yet, but we feel it coming. We know God’s up to something pretty amazing. And as He reveals His plan for us, we will continue sharing it with you.

P.S.–We’ve had some requests for our mailing address, so I thought I would let those of you who are interested in obtaining that tid bit of information know that you can either send me a Facebook message or text me, and I will be happy to share it with you! I’m not blasting that info for the whole world, though. 😉

Forever Grateful,

Jaclyn

Leave a Reply

