Holy Encounters · Keeping Up With the Turners · Uncategorized

The Pastor’s Wife

Pastor's WifeOkay, let’s address the elephant in the room. I mean, why tip toe around it when you can just confront it head on? At least, that’s how I feel about it. For those of you who are new to my blog and/or social media pages, I am married to a Pastor. Well…he’s more of a visionary, risk taker, line pusher, spiritual seeker, risk taker, Jesus lover…but in order to keep things simple we’ll just go with Pastor. So, I guess that makes me a Pastor’s Wife (shocker, there…I know). But, I am not just married to a Pastor, I am also a woman of ministry. I preach, teach, lead worship (my happy place), pray, get down and dirty for the Kingdom.

Why am I writing about this? Well, as I have shared in my previous posts, I started a new job working outside of the home. And while I haven’t made it a point to run around to my new co-workers and announce that I am married to a Pastor, the word has spread. I have been met with, “You’re the Pastor’s Wife, aren’t you?” And my favorite one is when conversation has taken place and then someone else shares with another co-worker that, “hey, Jaclyn is the Pastor’s Wife,” and the person I have been having a conversation with begins to stumble all over themselves and proceeds to apologize for any and all things that flowed from their mouth (super weirdness sets in and it just gets…well…weird).

I felt the need to share this because, I am human. I am a person just like everyone else. I don’t have special Jesus privileges that others don’t. I am not above making mistakes. I am not better than anyone else. And I am definitely not holier than anyone else. I was created just like everyone else was created. I bleed the same. I experience heartache. I fall on my face. I don’t always get things right. I get angry. My attitude needs adjusting at times. And the words that flow from my mouth aren’t always the best choice of words.

Friends, men and women in ministry are just like you. They are doing the best they can to walk the walk and love Jesus with every fiber of their being. They put their pants on every day just like you do. They cry. They get mad. They may even cuss at times. They aren’t untouchable or unapproachable.

I know for me, I do my best to love Jesus and love others. I am not going to run around slapping people with Bibles, using scripture to condemn anyone, or set up a repenting booth. I just want to do life with those of you who will let me. I want to do my best to live out the way of Christ. So, if you run into me (virtually or face-to-face) I give you permission to see me as someone who was created just like you, by the same God who created everything and everyone else, and who is trying to do life the best she can. I’m not just “the Pastor’s Wife.” There’s so much more to me, just like there is with you. And I would love for us to get to know one another better without all the weirdness. 😉

P.S.–And if you have questions, feel free to ask. I promise I won’t go all psycho on you. 😉

From one created person to another,
Jaclyn

Leave a Reply

